How to get a visa

Information about Chinese Visas

Foreign visitor generally needs a valid visa to enter and travel in China. Please check the official website of the Chinese embassy in your country, or the following website for general information:

Since visa requirements may vary in different countries, if you do need a visa, we strongly suggest you to check with your local travel agencies since they know the most about tourist visa application and requirements.

The following are some visa-exemption policies we have been informed.

A. The visa-exemption policy for Singapore, Brunei and Japan
Citizens of Singapore, Brunei and Japan holding ordinary passports may enter China without a visa provided that they come to China for tourism, family visit, business or transit, and intend to stay in China for no more than 15 days. However, the following personnel of these three countries must apply for a visa in advance if: a) They are holders of ordinary passports, and come to China for tourism, family visit or business, and intend to stay in China for more than 15 days; b) They are holders of ordinary passports, and come to China for study, employment, permanent residence or on a news reporting mission.

For further information, please check the website:

B. 144-hour visa-exemption transit policy
According to the 144-hour visa-exemption policy, citizens from 53 countries can transfer in China via specific ports and stay within the administrative precincts of Shanghai municipality, Jiangsu Province and Zhejiang Province for 144 hours. Meanwhile, the policy requires that a foreign passenger book his / her onward air / vessel / train tickets with confirmed seat in advance and leave China for a third country or region.

The 53 countries are:
1. European member countries of Schengen Visa Scheme (25)
Austria, Belgium, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco
2. Other European countries (14)
Russia, the U.K., Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Belarus
3. American countries (6)
United States of America, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile
4. Oceania countries (2)
Australia, New Zealand
5. Asian countries (6)
Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar

For further information, please check the website: